Book of the Month

This book was given to me by my best friend Kevin last summer and I finally got around to reading it in full over the last month. Since he isn’t a Christian, I was pretty surprised that he’d given me a book written by a man who is so outward and upfront about his Christianity. As I started it, I realized that this book is about much more than a man’s walk with God and and his beliefs on what our walks as Christians should be like. Tony Dungy comes exactly as advertised… quiet, meek, humble… but he’s broader than his public personality might lead you to believe.

I think that a lot of us would admittedly say that when we were kids we  weren’t striving to be who our parents were or who they wanted us to be. It wasn’t because  we didn’t love them or look up to them… we just wanted to do it our way. Tony Dungy’s parents were very influential in who he has become as a man, husband and father… mainly due to their Christian backgrounds. Through his coaching career he has become a major influence and role model for many young men who while not “lost”, needed help finding their way. Tony is a phenomenal coach but he’s an even better human being. “Quiet Strength” has a range of triumph to heartbreak but I promise you that you’ll wish there were more chapters to read when you reach the end.

Quiet Strength, written by Tony Dungy with Nathan Whitaker

About DLJonesTwo

Husband to my beautiful Queen, Father of five beautiful kids, I love the Lord, a Saltwater Enthusiast, Yankees fan, Jazz lover who hopes to have a summer home in Toronto one day. "Believe to Achieve" View all posts by DLJonesTwo

Leave a Reply

