Don’t Give Up Your Goodness

“A man saw a bug floundering around in the water. He decided to save it by stretching out his finger, but the bug stung him. The man still tried to get the bug out of the water, but it stung him again. On seeing this, his friend told him to stop saving the bug that kept stinging him. But the man said: “It is the nature of this bug to sting. It is my nature to love. Why should I give up my nature to love just because it is the nature of this bug to sting?” Unknown Author

Here comes my favorite line that I love to type out in big, bold letters… I love God. I’m one who tries very hard to avoid discussion about Politics, Religion and whether or not kids should be spanked, but, I’m never embarrassed about who God is in my life. I’ve been in some dark places and  I know that it’s only through God’s grace that I’ve been pulled out of them. There have been numerous people who’ve walked into my life at the right time, on multiple occasions, who’ve helped me gather myself and were instrumental in pulling me out of those dark times. Most of these dark periods were self-introduced but the lessons provided by them were priceless. To borrow a line from NBA legend Allen Iverson, “I’ve made a million mistakes in my life, but if it hadn’t been for those special people sent into my life, I would have made two million.”

I can’t imagine where I’d be in life today if the people that I’ve wronged had turned their back on me, in spite of how I’ve hurt them. I’ll take it a step further for those who are still reading… I can’t imagine where I’d be today if God decided to turn his back on me. I chose many rugged paths through my life, despite there being a smoother, much easier path and God’s warning signs and flashing signals. It’s in my nature to go at it alone, to think I have the answer and know what path is easiest for me. There are endless times where I’ve pushed His helping hand away and ignored what was actually best for me. But, He’s always forgiven me, shown me grace and pulled me out of the darkest places, in spite of me deciding to ignore Him time after time. Who wouldn’t want someone in their corner that loves unconditionally and will continue to do for you, even when you don’t deserve it?

We are both the helping-hand and the bug in this story… the question is, which one would you want to most be remembered as?

God Bless!

About Let's Play Nine

Hello everyone. My name is David and I'm a husband and father from western New York. I've had this blog for a few years now and because of changes that I've made in my life, I've decided to change the layout and direction of it. My goal is to not only share more of myself and my personal goals, but to also be a blessing to all of you who take time out of your day to read my content.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

