Samson’s Redemption

Every story that I’ve ever heard about Samson and Delilah was always heavily based around the “fact” that Samson was so dumb to cut his hair off for a woman who clearly didn’t love him. I’ve heard for years, “He cut his hair off… he cut it for her!” Not exactly what happened according to scripture. Samson’s biggest mistake wasn’t his transparency with Delilah… it was his blind faith in her. She used love, or her interpretation of it, to get Samson to reveal what his weakness was… and she ordered someone else to cut his hair off while he slept.

Judges 16:17-19
New King James Version (NKJV)

17 That he told her all his heart, and said to her, “No razor has ever come upon my head, for I have been a Nazirite to God from my mother’s womb. If I am shaven, then my strength will leave me, and I shall become weak, and be like any other man.”18 When Delilah saw that he had told her all his heart, she sent and called for the lords of the Philistines, saying, “Come up once more, for he has told me all his heart.” So the lords of the Philistines came up to her and brought the money in their hand. 19 Then she lulled him to sleep on her knees, and called for a man and had him shave off the seven locks of his head. Then she began to torment him, and his strength left him.

There’s a lot of Samson in modern-day man but most of us won’t admit that because we only know one side of the story. We don’t want to be associated with the not-so attractive part of Samson’s story. But, we should embrace Samson and his plight. Samson’s lowest and highest point in this  story both dealt with his hair. We always hear about Samson’s fall but never, ever hear about his redemption. I bet most  don’t even know that Samson regained his strength, even if for a moment… but he did and it was all through God’s grace and mercy.

Judges 16:21-22
New King James Version (NKJV)

21 Then the Philistines took him and put out his eyes, and brought him down to Gaza. They bound him with bronze fetters, and he became a grinder in the prison. 22 However, the hair of his head began to grow again after it had been shaven.

When we’re at our worst, there are those who don’t want us to know that we have a song of redemption inside of us. All we need to do to receive it is to ask for it.

Judges 16:28-30
New King James Version (NKJV)

28 Then Samson called to the Lord, saying, “O Lord God, remember me, I pray! Strengthen me, I pray, just this once, O God, that I may with one blow take vengeance on the Philistines for my two eyes!” 29 And Samson took hold of the two middle pillars which supported the temple, and he braced himself against them, one on his right and the other on his left. 30 Then Samson said, “Let me die with the Philistines!” And he pushed with all his might, and the temple fell on the lords and all the people who were in it. So the dead that he killed at his death were more than he had killed in his life.

God never ignores our prays and he’s always on time, even when we don’t deserve His attention.

About DLJonesTwo

Husband to my beautiful Queen, Father of five beautiful kids, I love the Lord, a Saltwater Enthusiast, Yankees fan, Jazz lover who hopes to have a summer home in Toronto one day. "Believe to Achieve" View all posts by DLJonesTwo

Leave a Reply

